From Russia with Love (Terence Young, 1963)

vlcsnap-5361101

It’s James Bond bringing a ruckus to the ladies (who instinctively fawn over him like he’s giving off pheromones or something), and delivering some terrible puns every time he dispatches a bad guy, and watching a gypsy belly dance set piece that’s just sexy runtime filler, and brawling with an Aryan’d-out Robert Shaw in a train car, and dueling with a biplane North By Northwest style, and cruelly playing with Ms. Moneypenny’s libido, and going to the ends of the earth with pretty Russian double-agent with a heart of gold for some typewriter or something.  AND it features – and I make absolutely no exaggeration here – the full orchestral arrangement of the famous James Bond theme…as Sean Connery walks into his hotel room and picks up the telephone.

And other than the Sean Connery-less first 15 minutes that just had some baddies talking about Mother Russia and stupidly incomprehensible plans for world domination and politics and other outdated Cold War shit, it was all AWESOME.

8.5/10

3 comments so far

  1. Allison on

    This is the shortest review I’ve ever seen!! I love it. And our ratings are pretty similar. I think I gave it 8/10.

    Thank you for adding me to your blogroll. I’ve added you to mine as well.

  2. mrsemmapeel on

    Still my favourite Bond, so delicious. I love it’s small scale comparitively to some of the other Bonds… just lovely.

  3. Simon M. on

    yeah, way better than when the series became a parody of itself with those goofy gadgets and explosion nonsense.

    And if there’s anything to learn from From Russia with Love, it’s that having red wine with fish is, like, the ultimate faux pas 😛


Leave a comment